CAIMS-Fields Industrial Mathematics Prize

The CAIMS-Fields annual industrial mathematics prize is to be awarded to a researcher in recognition of exceptional research in any branch of industrial mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada. This Prize would not only be a high honour to bestow upon an individual, but also an acknowledgement of industrial mathematics as a fundamental and vibrant discipline within the research culture of Canada.

The award will consist of a cash prize of $1,000 and a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS Annual Meeting. The recipient will be invited to deliver a lecture at the CAIMS Annual Meeting in the year of the award. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:

  • a curriculum vitae,
  • a publication list,
  • a cover letter explaining the basis of the nomination,
  • a maximum of three additional letters of support.

Unsuccessful nominations which continue to meet the eligibility criteria will be automatically considered for a second year.

To submit an application for this prize, go to Nominations


The Fields Institute began co-sponsoring this prize in 2015.  The prize was formerly known as the CAIMS-Mprime Industrial Mathematics Prize, during which time Mprime was the co-sponsor.


2016 Prize Winner: Huaxiong Huang

The Fields Institute is pleased to announce in conjunction with the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society (CAIMS) that Dr. Huaxiong Huang from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at York University is the 2016 winner of the CAIMS-Fields Industrial Mathematics Prize.

Huang was the inaugural Industrial Coordinator at the Pacific Institute of Mathematical Sciences, he played a critical role in the early years of the Industrial Problem-Solving Workshops, and he was also involved in the Graduate Industrial Mathematical Modelling Camps.

 Professor Huang has an impressive research record, with over 75 journal publications that involve a surprisingly broad cross-section of applied mathematics including partial differential equations, asymptotics, fluid mechanics, probability, stochastic processes, and scientific computing. His work impacts a broad sphere of influence to the study of applications ranging from industrial sectors such as banking, insurance, biomedicine, energy, and material science.


Past CAIMS-Fields Industrial Mathematics Prize Winners

Prize Award year Recipient
2015 Sean Bohun
2014 John Stockie
2012 André Fortin
2011 Ian Frigaard
2010 Brian Wetton