Conceptual illustration of radiating lines

Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award

The Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award honours members of CAIMS/SCMAI for outstanding service to the society or to Applied Mathematics in Canada. The award is named after its first recipient, and was initiated as a means to honour Arthur for his years of unselfish service to the society. Arthur was a founding member of CAIMS/SCMAI and acted as its Secretary/Treasurer for eight years.

The award will consist of a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS/SCMAI Annual Meeting. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:

  1. a letter outlining the candidate’s contributions to Canadian Applied Mathematics and signed by at least two CAIMS members,
  2. a curriculum vitae of the nominee.

To submit an application for this award, go to Open Nominations page.


2019 Prize Winner:  Lucy Campbell

The recipient of the CAIMS Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award for 2019 is Prof. Lucy Campbell from Carleton University in Ottawa, for their outstanding service to  CAIMS/SCMAI as two-time co-organizer of the Canadian Symposium on Fluid Dynamics, active contributor to Annual Meetings, Board Member, and for serving above and beyond in the role of Treasurer.

Award Winners

Lucy Campbell

Sharene Bungay

Arvind Gupta

Sam Shen

Bob Russell

Paul Muir

William Langford

Ken Jackson

Jack Macki

Serpil Kocabiyik

Sue Ann Campbell

Keith Ranger

Anna Lawniczak

Paul Sullivan

Cecil Graham

Stan Dennis

Bryant Moodie

Fred Wan

Arthur Beaumont