Conceptual image of radiating lines

CAIMS-Fields Industrial Mathematics Prize

The CAIMS-Fields annual industrial mathematics prize is to be awarded to a researcher in recognition of exceptional research in any branch of industrial mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee’s research should have been conducted primarily in Canada. This Prize is a high honour to bestow upon an individual, and acknowledges industrial mathematics as a fundamental and vibrant discipline within the research culture of Canada.

The award will consist of a cash prize of $1,000 and a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS Annual Meeting. The recipient will be invited to deliver a lecture at the CAIMS Annual Meeting in the year of the award. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:
  1. a cover letter explaining the basis of the nomination,
  2. up to three additional letters of support.
  3. a curriculum vitae,
  4. a publication list if not included in the CV.

The committee may, at its discretion, choose to recommend that applications which remain eligible be considered in the next year.

To submit an application for this award, go to Open Nominations page.

The Fields Institute began co-sponsoring this prize in 2015. The prize was formerly known as the CAIMS-Mprime Industrial Mathematics Prize, during which time Mprime was the co-sponsor.

2021 Prize Winner: Nilima Nigam

Prof. Nilima Nigam (SFU) has made many broad-ranging contributions to the discipline of industrial mathematics. Her recent interdisciplinary research is ground-breaking and demonstrates how theoretical results can have a major impact on the development of new mathematical models. Dr. Nigam has also provided outstanding national leadership as a vocal, effective and selfless advocate for the industrial mathematics community.

Award Winners

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/ on line 43

Nilima Nigam

Vakhtang Putkaradze

Jianhong Wu

Zhangxing (John) Chen

Huaxiong Huang

Sean Bohun

John Stockie

André Fortin

Ian Frigaard

Brian Wetton