Conceptual illustration of radiating lines

CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award

The prize is to be awarded to a researcher less than ten years past the date of Ph.D. at the time of nomination (i.e. 2009 or later for 2019 prize). The prize recognizes exceptional research in any branch of applied mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee’s research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university.

The award will consist of a cash prize of $1,000 and a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS Annual Meeting. The recipient will be invited to deliver a plenary lecture at the CAIMS Annual Meeting in the year of the award. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:
  1. a cover letter explaining the basis of the nomination
  2. up to three additional letters of support, at least two of which should be from references who are neither former PhD/postdoc mentors nor collaborators. In the case of very interdisciplinary research, the support letters should address the nominee’s contributions in both applied mathematics and the area of application.
  3. a curriculum vitae
  4. a publication list if not included in the CV

Unsuccessful nominations for candidates who continue to meet the eligibility criteria may be renominated the following year with an updated CV, publication list, and if desired, letters of support.

To submit an application for this award, go to Open Nominations page.

2018 Prize Winner: Alexander Bihlo

Alexander Bihlo is a meteorologist and numerical analyst who currently holds a Tier II CRC position in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Memorial University. In the seven years since receiving his Ph.D., Dr. Bihlo has made over 30 peer-reviewed contributions to the literature.  His most significant work impacts climate modelling and refining computational approaches for real-world problems. In this way, Dr. Bihlo’s work highlights our greatest hopes for applied math by showing how it can support environmental stewardship, promote economic prosperity, and ultimately improve the lives of all Canadians.

Award Winners

Alex Bihlo

Ben Adcock

Hau-Tieng Wu

Jean-Philippe Lessard

Jane Heffernan

Geoff Wild

Serdar Yüksel

Theodore Kolokolnikov

Adam Oberman

Daniel Coombs