Jellyfish image

Cecil Graham Doctoral Dissertation Award

This award was established by the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society (CAIMS) to recognize and to publicize an outstanding PhD thesis in Applied Mathematics defended at a Canadian University during the calendar year prior to the year of the award.

The award consists of a prize of $1000 and a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS*SCMAI Annual Meeting. The recipient will be invited to give a lecture at the Annual Meeting in the year of the award. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:
  1. a cover letter from the thesis supervisor indicating why the thesis is being nominated. This letter should summarize the research problem, techniques, results, significance, and potential impact,
  2. a letter (from the supervisor or other appropriate person familiar with the thesis and the research area) placing the thesis within the context of the current field and identifying potential applications of the work,
  3. a letter from the Graduate Chair (or Faculty of Graduate Studies, University library, etc.) providing proof of the official date the thesis was accepted,
  4. an electronic copy of the thesis

To submit an application for this award, go to Open Nominations page.

2018 Prize Winner: David McLeod

It is with great pleasure that the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society presents the 2018 Cecil Graham Doctoral Dissertation Award to David McLeod.

Dr. McLeod’s thesis is a beautiful example of applied mathematics, applying sophisticated mathematical ideas to questions of fundamental interest to evolutionary biologists, relating to infectious diseases and mating systems, including sexual selection and conflict, and also addressing social interactions such as cooperation, altruism and spite, for example showing how small population size can drive the emergence of such behaviour.

Award Winners

David McLeod

Chai Molina

Eric Foxall

Wilten Nicola

Diego Ayala

Frances Mackay

Vladislav Buksthynov

Brendan Pass

David Titley-Peloquin

Elsa Hansen

Gerardo Berbeglia

Colin Macdonald

Raluca Eftimie

Alysson M. Costa

Richard Pancer

Isabelle Déchène

Miguel Angel Moyers González

C. Lindsay Anderson

Ovidiu Voitcu

Ramadan Akila

Connell McCluskey

Petter Wiberg

David Iron

Stephen J. Gustafson

Jon-Paul Voroney

Troy Day

John Stockie

Steve Ruuth

H. Ye

Qiang Lan

Kenzu Abdella

Yuanping He

Yu Qin

Rodolfo Bermejo

Peter J. S. Young

Deming Zhuang

Zi-Cai Li

Wendy Seward

Michael Foreman

Paul Muir