Conceptual illustration of a plant-like network

Mathematical Biology Members

The Mathematical Biology Activity Group at CAIMS is the organisational hub of mathematical biology in Canada. To facilitate communication and cross-fertilization of ideas among members of the group, we plan to host a mixer and to sponsor a plenary talk at the CAIMS annual meeting, we plan to hold an annual one-day symposium on mathematical biology in conjunction with the CAIMS annual meeting, we offer this website, our facebook page, and an email list. Current members of the group are listed below together with their research areas. We always welcome new members. If you are interested, please send an email to Xingfu Zou (xzou <at> uwo.ca).

Current members

Name Affiliation Research Interests Email
Arino, Julien University of Manitoba epidemiology, population dynamics Julien_Arino@umanitoba.ca
Belair, Jacques Universite de Montreal/Cambam vector-borne diseases, mathematical haematology belair@crm.umontreal.ca
Bauch, Chris University of Waterloo ecology, sustainability cbauch@uwaterloo.ca
Bolker, Ben McMaster University epidemiology, ecology, evolution bolker@mcmaster.ca
Bungay, Sharene Memorial University of Newfoundland mathematical physiology sharene@mun.ca
Buono, Luciano UOIT Animal movement (aggregation, spatial ecology, gaits) Pietro-Luciano.Buono@uoit.ca
Campbell, Sue Ann University of Waterloo mathematical neuroscience sacampbell@uwaterloo.ca,
Colijn, Caroline Simon Fraser  University Infection, evolution, phylogenetics ccolijn@sfu.ca
Coombs, Daniel University of British Columbia theoretical immunology, disease dynamics coombs@math.ubc.ca
Cytrynbaum, Eric University of British Columbia cell biology cytryn@math.ubc.ca
Day, Troy Queens University evolution, epidemiology troy.day@mac.com
de Vries, Gerda University of Alberta physiology and cell biology, dynamical systems gerda.devries@ualberta.ca
Doebeli, Michael University of British Columbia evolutionary biology doebeli@math.ubc.ca
Dushoff, Jonathan McMaster University evolution and spread of disease dushoff@mcmaster.ca
Earn, David McMaster University epidemiology, ecology, evolution earn@math.mcmaster.ca
Eberl, Hermann University of Guelph biophysics heberl@uoguelph.ca
Edelstein-Keshet, Leah University of British Columbia cell motility, social aggregation keshet@math.ubc.ca
Edwards, Roderick University of Victoria neural and gene networks edwards@uvic.ca
Heffernan, Jane York University mathematical epidemiology, mathematical immunology jmheffer@mathstat.yorku.ca
Hillen, Thomas University of Alberta cell motility, cancer modeling thillen@ualberta.ca
Humphries, Tony McGill University delay equations, mathematical hematology tony.humphries@mcgill.ca
Hurford, Amy Memorial University of Neufundland theoretical ecology, epidemiology ahurford@mun.ca
Khadra, Anmar McGill University mathematical neuroscience, quantitative immunology, cellular dynamics anmar.khadra@mcgill.ca
Kolokolnikov, Theo Dalhousie University collective behaviour, reaction-diffusion systems tkolokol@gmail.com
Layton, Anita University of Waterloo mathematical physiology anita.layton@uwaterloo.ca
Lewis, Mark University of Alberta mathematical ecology mark.lewis@ualberta.ca
Lutscher, Frithjof University of Ottawa mathematical ecology, dynamical systems flutsche@uottawa.ca
Mackey, Michael McGill University/CAMBAM gene regulation, control of cell proliferation/differentiation michael.mackey@mcgill.ca
Magpantay, Felicia Queens University delay equations, ecology, epidemiology, stochastic models felicia.magpantay@queensu.ca
McCluskey, Connell Wilfrid Laurier University epidemiology, delay equations ccmcc8@gmail.com
Moghadas, Seyed York University agent-based modelling moghadas@yorku.ca
Popovic, Lea Universite de Montreal stochastic processes, systems biology lpopovic@mathstat.concordia.ca
Portet, Stéphanie University of Manitoba cell biology, cytoskeleton portets@cc.umanitoba.ca
Roussel, Marc University of Lethbridge biochemical modeling roussel@uleth.ca
Smith?, Robert University of Ottawa infectious disease modeling rsmith43@uottawa.ca
Strohm, Shaun Okanagan College mathematical ecology, spatial ecology shaun.strohm@gmail.com
Tyson, Rebecca University of British Columbia dispersal, cyclic populations rebecca.tyson@ubc.ca
van den Driessche, Pauline University of Victoria epidemic models and stability of systems vandendr@uvic.ca
Vasilyeva, Olga Memorial University, Grenfell campus mathematical ecology and epidemiology ovasilyeva@grenfell.mun.ca
Wahl, Lindi Western University population genetics, microbial evolution lwahl@uwo.ca
Watmough, James University of New Brunswick mathematical ecology, mathematical epidemiology watmough@unb.ca
Wild, Geoff Western University population biology, evolutionary biology gwild@uwo.ca
Wilkie, Kathleen Ryerson University cancer modeling, mathematical immunology, systems biology kpwilkie@ryerson.ca
Willms, Allan University of Guelph applied dynamical systems, population biology awillms@uoguelph.ca
Wolkowicz, Gail McMaster University population dynamics, chemostat, bifurcations wolkowic@math.mcmaster.ca
Wu, Jianhong York University mathematical biology, infection dynamics, neural networks wujh@mathstat.yorku.ca
Zhu, Huaiping York University vector-borne diseases, climate change, bifurcation huaiping@mathstat.yorku.ca
Zou, Xingfu Western University DDE models, virus dynamics, disease spread xzou@uwo.ca