Skip to content Skip to footer

Past Presidents

At CAIMS, our presidents hold 6-year terms: 2 years as president-elect, 2 years as president, and 2-years as past-president. Our current and previous presidents and their terms of service are listed below.


Rebecca Tyson 2019–2024
Thomas Hillen 2017–2022
Matt Davison 2015–2020
Ray Spiteri 2013–2018
Ian Frigaard 2011–2016
Jianhong Wu 2009–2014
Jacques Belair 2007–2012
Bob Russel 2005–2010
Bill Langford 2003–2008
Ken Jackson 2001–2006
Anna Lawniczak 1999–2004

The Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society, which dates from 1979, has a growing presence in industrial, mathematical, scientific and technological circles within and outside of Canada.

Contact CAIMS

Please direct all inquiries about the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society (CAIMS) to: